Posted by: Steph | April 3, 2012

10 Cans a day of Diet Coke a day

Confession: I drink over ten cans of Diet Coke a day, and I’ve been doing this for approximately 20 years.

Let’s do a little bit of math together:
The good news is that it wouldn’t fill an Olympic swimming pool (that would take 2,500,000 Litres). The bad news is that it could almost fill an average family sized pool. Oh, and it probably cost me over $30,000.

Other than my Diet Coke consumption, I am fairly healthy. I am energetic; I work out, eat fairly well most of the time, and generally take care of myself. I quit smoking cold turkey about 7 years ago. People often remark that they would expect me to look less healthy considering the amount of Diet Coke I drink. I’ve often though to myself “why quit, it’s not like I’m shooting heroin”.

So why am I quitting?
Health, vanity, and after viewing my calculations above…budget. To clarify, I’m not one of those Aspartame alarmists who believe that Aspartame kills, but I don’t think that I should be drinking eleven cans of anything. Also, I am curious as to how I will feel. I feel less than fantastic every morning and maybe there is a reason (beyond often staying up to late). With regards to vanity, I will admit that my skin looks better when I drink more water, and I have heard tales of people suddenly slimming down for no reason when they gave up my beloved Diet Coke (disclaimer, not tying size to health or beauty standards but I do go up and down a little and my summer clothes look better on me a few pounds lighter).

In the next few weeks I will be researching the health issues surrounding diet cola, as well as chronicling my experience weaning off. I’m also hoping to hear from you guys, and include your stories. Have some of you quit Diet Coke? Do you have tips, tricks or stories to tell? Does anyone want to quit with me?

I have a 5 week plan: I will start with 5 diet colas a day for the first week (that’s cutting my intake in half) and then go down by one can a day each week. At the end I will have 2 weeks completely diet cola free, and then after that, maybe I can have one once in awhile… If I can learn to embrace moderation.

I would love to hear your stories and I am open to any suggestions, please comment below or tweet me / follow me at @stephmarshall – use the hashtag #QuittingDC. Does anyone out there want to take this challenge with me? Even if you are trying to quit something else?

Wish me luck. I’m a little scared.
-Steph

Responses

  1. […] it is now here. Rate this: Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. I was just like you! Addicted to Diet Coke and drank 6-8 cans a day. Now I am down to one or 2 per week (sometimes a week or 2 go by and i have not had any!). I cant say i feel or look any dofferent. But like you I felt 6 or 8 of any one thing day could not been that great could it.
    On a side note I work for Coca-Cola (oh the irony). I am also like you in that I have no worries at all regarding Aspartame.
    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

