Posted by: Steph | June 11, 2009

The carbonation-free week?

So I’m back on Diet Coke. Obscene levels. Like three litres a day.

I have pondered the possibility that my Diet Coke intake is why I look young – I am well preserved because of all of the chemicals – but I’m not a complete idiot, and know that eventually I may have to deal with the consequences of my favourite magical beverage.

For the last few days I have had this phrase that keeps running through my head: “It’s just time”. The last time that phrase went running around my head was when I decided to quit smoking for good. I quit cold turkey (and I was never a half heated smoker, moderation has never been a strength) after reading Allan Carr’s book and I never looked back. So – is it time to give up my favourite poison?

I want to run an experiment and see how I feel after a week with no carbonation. The last time I was deprived for over 24 hours was most likely when I was in the middle Algonquin Park on canoe trip. Over 15 years ago.

Leave a Reply

Categories

