Posted by: Steph | June 8, 2008

Boot Camp

You know those workout movie montages with good music? That’s my life until mid July. So far so good, I’ve lost 5 pounds in less than 2 weeks and I haven’t even cut carbs yet. That starts tomorrow, so in advance I apologize if I’m mean to anyone, but I may be a little bit grumpy without bread. With regards to exercise a typical week will incorporate the following:

Walking to and from work every day – 7km a day… 35km a week.

1 Pilates class

1 Hatha Yoga class

3 Full body training circuits

4 15 minute abs classes

4 Cardio workouts

1 Evening of Volleyball

…and golf next Sunday.

So as you can see, I am not kidding about the boot camp thing.

I know that I tend to be much more “judgy” about myself than others – when it comes to other women I find that things like mannerisms, style, and confidence can work to create beauty with every body shape. But when it comes to my own body… not so much. And also, I want to fit back into the jeans I wore before I quit smoking. I’ve been trying to really figure out why I want to get back to that size, so here is my completely shallow list of why I am doing this boot camp thing.

1. Look good in jeans. Because it just makes like that little bot more fun.

2. Fit back into my sleek black business suit because I feel more powerful in business wear when I am sleeker. Also, I know the look I am going for and it isn’t exactly working right now and part of the reason is that I am not comfortable in my own skin when I am heavier.

3. Have toned arms because I have always wanted them.

4. See if it is possible for me to have a flat stomach. Hence all of the intense ab work.

5. I m getting older – If I wait a few years to do this I may be stuck with this body forever and it doesn’t feel like mine.

6. I quit smoking, I quit Diet Coke, next step is to get fit.

7. Money – I am competing with a few people to see who can loose the highest % of their body weight by June 27th.

8. Proving that I can do it. I don’t need to live on Diet Coke and cigarettes to be skinny.

9. I don’t want to be that “slightly heavy” girl. Weightism is unethical, but it is also alive and well.

10. It seems stupid not to make this effort when I have all of the tools at my disposal and the body that has the strength to do so much exercise. Moderation has never been my strongpoint so I should use that to my advantage.

So turn on the movie soundtrack and please don’t offer me any sugar. Wish me luck.

Responses

  1. You have to do something!

  2. So which songs go on your soundtrack/montage?

  3. Naturally you are beautiful in any guise but I whole-heartedly support the pursuit of an ideal. Since the journey is what counts, it hardly matters that the destination is misguided.
    Besides – power suits are cool.


Leave a Reply

Categories

