Posted by: Steph | April 12, 2008

Book Club Begins

Riley captures my energy level today in this picture:

Riley the dog

Today was the inaugural meeting of my book club. The book club is comprised of seven girls between the ages of 25 and 35, of which I only previously knew four (two were unable to make it today). I think it is going to be an interesting group to discuss things with. A good mix of differences and similarities amongst us. I anticipate high intensity but absolutely fun disagreement. We spent a fair amount of time on purely social conversation and the talk ranged from differing opinions on taking a man’s name, to pole dancing and experiences in strip bars, to disdain for the hyper-parenting trend. Okay perhaps it was a little bit girly – but in a good, smart girl way (I almost forgot to add that last comma, which would have left the implications that the girls are good… which certainly is not the case – in the best way possible). 

KevinThe book we discussed is We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver. It is an utterly disturbing fictional book concerning a school massacre from the perspective of the killer’s mother. I read this book ages ago and I was relieved to finally have people to discuss it with. 

I ate too many nachos and baked goods. And drank about 10 Diet Cokes. Now I want to flop on the couch and watch something trite with pretty people in it. 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

