Posted by: Steph | June 16, 2007

That Speech

Every movie that features a convocation ceremony is equipped with a motivating speech by a guest speaker, a speech meant to send the students off ready to conquer the world. Our speech yesterday? Not so much.

I’m not going to mention the name of the bank because it was mentioned approximately 22 times during the speech (Kirsten – my alphabetical neighbour – and I started counting). Of course, this same bank just contributed a faculty chair to the school so it was a political move. I found it a rather irritating way to end, and it left me completely uninspired. If Schulich is so focused on building a sense of community, they should take advantage of the convocation ceremony to leave us all feeling great about the school, a teeny bit nostalgic, and excited about the future. That would help them get money out of us down the road.

Now to be fair, I should mention that I am not a huge fan of formal ceremony. Once the undergrads were up I was officially past bored and I suggested that the MBA’s just file out of the stadium in a nice calm orderly fashion, to make it look as though it is perfectly normal that we are leaving. I could not actualize this vision though. I did like the bagpipes. I am a sucker for bagpipes because we always had them at my high school graduation ceremonies. I also like men in kilts.

Guess it’s time to change the banner of this blog since I am no longer a student. I need a new tag line – hey marketing experts – any ideas?

Leave a Reply

Categories

