Posted by: Steph | March 20, 2007

irlmssmhitb

Does the title of the post make sense to you? Well I think this is how my negotiations professor hears me when I speak.

I have a problem with my negotiations class that I can’t seem to fix. I don’t know why, but somehow I can’t seem to communicate with my professor. I understand what she is communicating to the class, but when I raise a question or an issue, 9 times out of 10 I am misinterpreted. And the thing is – I am misinterpreted in a way that makes me look a little bit dim and small minded. It is very odd – but when I have tried to clarify it often just gets worse.

For example, yesterday we talked about a case with some Alberta bimbo called Kelly who winds up working in Japan (on one of those teaching English program things). Kelly is an immature little brat who doesn’t understand the subtleties of work culture in Japan, and finds herself in a bit of a mess with her boss. Obviously we have more detail but that is the gist of it. The question for the case is “What is the solution?”

Well… I don’t buy it. We are supposed to be Kelly, but that is illogical because Kelly is going to continue to be a little closed minded brat and she will cause great embarrassment to her boss and the program. Not to mention, it is her particular faults that have gotten her into this mess. Now, if the case said “And then the magical case fairies came to sprinkle wisdom powder over Kelly while she was sleeping” then I would buy it, because now Kelly would have the tools to understand the situation better.

Maybe the case format doesn’t work as well for personal situations. I don’t know. I still like the idea of the magical case fairies though.

I don’t know if this is better or worse than Management of Change – in that class, every time I add something decent to the conversation it is attributed to Setti.

I’m out of Diet Coke. Problem. Fixable. Bye.

Leave a Reply

Categories

