Posted by: Steph | March 12, 2007

This one is for Alan

I found out yesterday that Alan Edwards had died. I’ve known Alan all of my life and Eagle Mountain won’t be the same without him working on his lawn or telling us to turn down the music at the Big House. He lived his life very fully and he always seemed younger…maybe in part because the girlfriends kept getting younger. As a kid he was always one of those adults that we thought was pretty cool – he even had motorcycles. And when he asked us about what we were doing he really listened – he wasn’t just asking to be polite.

When I was about six I went through a phase of wanting to be called “Mathew” because I didn’t like girl names, and I remember Alan trying to convince me that if I wanted to change my name maybe I should go for something more neutral like “Sam” – which is my initials. I didn’t really agree, but I appreciated his effort. No other adult was taking my request seriously. He also kept my R2D2 Star wars drawings on his fridge for a long time. He was a fantastic storyteller and he could make any story worth telling. He affectionately recounted excellent stories about Eric and Jane – I remember one tale in particular about the difference between the two kids getting into a new decadent car. Alan always made the kids feel important when we put on shows with mandatory attendance. He was fun. He was quick on the tennis court and almost as fast as Andre in a sailboat. I’m going to miss him.

I also remember him leading people in song at particularly fun Eagle Mountain parties. Since I couldn’t find the “Wild West Show” on iTunes, this one goes out to you… “And did those feet, In ancient time…” – I’ll also think of you at the next sunset over lake Champlain.

Responses

  1. Here, here. Alan will be missed. He remains one of the most dashing, charming, sincere and warm men I’ve ever met. And, although he was 60 years my senior…I always understood why he was so popular with the ladies. The James Bond of EMH. I will remember him fondly.

  2. I couldn’t agree more. Camille called me on Tuesday with the news. I can’t believe he’s gone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

