Posted by: Steph | March 11, 2007

Parikshit’s Answers!

And from one of the International Affairs Candidates – Parikshit Ralhan

Thanks for taking the time Parikshit!

The Questions of Truth:

1. What is your original platform idea that you are the most proud of?
My campaign revolves around bringing all students at Schulich together to help each other and get more value out of the program. I feel the best way to reach out to the students and unify their efforts is through the various clubs at Schulich. My idea is simple – have a committee comprising of the Presidents of all clubs at Schulich which will meet regularly (perhaps once every months) to communicate the events happening in the clubs and leveraging expertise/ideas/opinions from other club presidents. This will also help communicate & promote events of one club to all members of other clubs and ultimately benefit all students.

2. What is it about you that would suit the position that you are running for?
Having grown up in India, worked in India, USA and China and traveled around Europe, I have had the exposure to various cultures and a diversity of people which has helped me develop openness towards different cultures and backgrounds and the patience to be an active listener. Besides, I am an international student who has gone through the experience of migrating to Canada and transitioning into a new society. Such personality traits and first hand experiences make me suitable for the International Directors role.

3. What makes you different from your opponent(s)?
My dedication towards my tasks, ability to connect to people, good communication skills and confidence to get out there and prove myself in any situation differentiates me from my opponent. Besides these, my leadership and organizational skills allow me to work in unison with my team members and motivate them to perform to the best of their abilities. These traits provide me the added edge over my opponent.

4. What would your 5150 team members say about you? Name one so that
we can check.
Dedicated, focused, helpful and fun to be with. Chris Christie, Ripal Sanchala, Weiqun Chen, Jessica Fingerhut.

5. Have you been active in GBC events? Please elaborate.
Yes. Culture Crawl, Ice Hockey Game, Pub Nights. Have also participated at various other events at Schulich – Case Competitions, Career Day host, Chinese New Year.

6. What are important qualities in a GBC candidate for your position?
– Patience, desire and willingness to hear other people’s views.
– Professional and strong to raise concerns to authorities
– Friendly, approachable and fun loving to make students feel comfortable about raising concerns and facilitate them in enjoying the Schulich experience
– Good organizational and leadership skills

7. Do you have the guts to be a strong voice for the student body?
Give an example of past behavior that demonstrates courage.
Yes.

– Never been shy to raise my and my teams’ concerns in class, club meetings and to professors.
– At work was chosen by my manager to represent my team in client meetings where raising group’s issues and getting answers was required.
(I have not been a GBC rep so did not get a formal opportunity to raise student concerns in school)

8. What do you think of the quality of Schulich students?
Like the cultural diversity of students at Schulich, the quality of students is also diverse. There are some brilliant students around us and others not so smart. Some are great at numbers and others at presentations. Some are really innovative and out-of-the box thinkers while others are good at implementing others’ ideas.

I believe every student at Schulich has some good qualities and talent and it is up to others to find that talent and learn/gain from it. After all, we all made it to Schulich!!!

9. What is the biggest problem at Schulich? Is it solvable by the GBC?
If so, how?

The biggest problem is the ‘disconnect’ or lack of cohesiveness between the various groups/communities of students at Schulich. Be it groups based on region, culture, year, section, part-time or full-time, mba or imba. Everyone is confined to their limited groups and is loosing out on the opportunity to learn from this ocean of talent we have at Schulich.

The GBC can certainly contribute towards solving this problem. I like Mark’s ideas of the database and networking to solve this problem. Further I believe the International Director (along with the rest of the GBC) has a role to play here & I am confident I can work towards bridging this gap between students.

Importantly, the students themselves have to realize the qualities of the people outside their small circles and balance their time to get to know and benefit from their peers.

10. What is the funniest thing you have seen at Schulich so far?
Raju’s mimicry of Pestano while delivering his Madonna dialogue. Hehe, you all have to hear that J

Besides that, its funny how all of us campus residents always manage to be the last ones to enter class and the majority to miss the 8:30 classes and say its very difficult to get out of bed in the morning and walk to class.

11. Give 3 adjectives to describe yourself.
– Dedicated
– Committed
– Friendly

12. What was/is your favorite class so far? How about your favorite teacher?
The OBIR 5100 classes with Ingo were my favorite. His enthusiasm and energy levels, along with innovative techniques to involve the class and the jazz music to get everyone in the mood were simply outstanding.

13. Coke or Pepsi?
Pepsi in India and Coke Zero in Canada. I’m the ‘international’ guy after all 😉

14. How much time have you budgeted to your GBC duties (per week)?
Its going to be a full time job and you need to be available for the students almost 24×7. I don’t think I can put a time to this, as much as the students & school demands. ‘You gotta do what you gotta do.’

15. What else should we know about you?
I’ve had a really tough and hectic week like most other candidates but every time I’ve made a speech in class I experienced a new high and have thoroughly enjoyed it. One of the reasons why I decided to run for the GBC is to get the opportunity to get out there and speak in front of people. I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and all the effort was completely worth it. Now I’m almost greedy to win and get more opportunities to do so in front of the Schulich community.

16. And finally, if you were a fruit or vegetable, what would you be and why?

Watermelon – Hard and strong on the outside and soft and juicy on the inside. Refreshing my friends as they uncover me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

