Posted by: Steph | March 10, 2007

Allen Benjamin answers

Another questionnaire!

The Questions of Truth:

1. What is your original platform idea that you are the most proud of?

Bridging the gap between part-time (Keele evenings, weekends and Nadal) and the rest of the Schulich community by adopting activities and establishing communication mediums that would encourage more involvement by the part-time student body.

2. What is it about you that would suit the position that you are running for?
I am a very passionate person and once I believe in a cause or an issue I will give it my all to see it through. I am also a very open minded, approachable person that likes being involved and wants to be involved. I am here at Schulich for the experience not just the degree. When you go to Star Bucks, its not just to drink Coffee or a Latte’ or whatever else you get, it’s about the experience they are providing. Our experience at Schulich is improved when everyone gets involved, I understand that and I want to help facilitate that.

I love this quote and this is what I am trying to do.

“Be the change you want to see in the world”-M. Ghandi.

3. What makes you different from your opponent(s)?
My passion, persistence and cultural background make me different.
The path I have taken in life to this point is quite diverse and as a result I consider myself to be flexible, committed and serious.

4. What would your 5150 team members say about you? Name one so that
we can check.

Committed, Genuine, Approachable – Suzanne Li
Funny, Down-to-earth – Assad Hussain

5. Have you been active in GBC events? Please elaborate.

I have tried to be active in GBC events such as being an international class representative for Section U.

6. What are important qualities in a GBC candidate for your position?

The candidate must be flexible and a “go-getter”. Part-time students are all over (Keele, Downtown), therefore the candidate for this position needs to be out there and has to seek the part-timers to find out what’s going on with them and what they want. The candidate for this position needs to know the part-timers, not just their names or faces but their personality, interests and what they do outside of school and work to be able to truly represent their needs.

7. Do you have the guts to be a strong voice for the student body?
Give an example of past behaviour that demonstrates courage.
I am from Barbados and I have no family in Canada. I resigned from a good job in Barbados to relocate to Canada with the intention of advancing my career and education. When I came to Canada I had no job lined up and on top of the stress of not having a job, I still had not done the GMAT to complete my application to Canada’s #1 MBA.
Today I can say that I have a good job and I have almost completed my 2 nd semester at Schulich. If taking a leap like that isn’t gutsy then I don’t know what is. There is more to this story but I would prefer not to divulge anymore as I would like to keep some things private.
All in all I do believe I have the guts to be a strong voice for the student body but I also believe that with all the students, our COMBINED voice will be much stronger to get the job done.

8. What do you think of the quality of Schulich students?
I think we are very intelligent, analytical and articulate students. We are also very down-to-earth and everything in our lives is not solely based on academic achievements which is good.

9. What is the biggest problem at Schulich? Is it solvable by the GBC?
If so, how?

Our current student body is very diverse but this diversity is not totally incorporated into the Schulich community and how it’s being built. This can be solved by the GBC because its role is vital to ensuring this issue is not an issue. The GBC Directors represent either a specific diverse group (e.g. Part-time Director) or the interest of the groups (e.g. Academic Director). All initiatives planned for Schulich students should take into consideration all interest groups represented for a more integrated Schulich community.

10. What is the funniest thing you have seen at Schulich so far?
I honestly can’t think of any one thing that is funnier than the other. My best times though are my conversations with my friends in the market place before our 7pm classes. Some of the things these students (part-time & full-time) say after a long day at work before a 3 hour night class that they just don’t want to go to, is absolutely funny man. Sometimes the funniest things are said when you are tired or sleepy!

11. Give 3 adjectives to describe yourself .
Opinionated, Candid, Passionate

12. What was/is your favourite class so far? How about your favorite teacher?
MGMT 5150 – Leadership and Governance. I don’t have a favourite teacher (yet).

13. Coke or Pepsi? Sprite J . Being a sport though I’ll go with coke

14. How much time have you budgeted to your GBC duties (per week)?
Whatever time is required I’ll make available.

15. What else should we know about you?
I am a very down-to-earth Caribbean man. I work hard, study hard and have fun while doing both, but I also make time to have an enjoyable social life. Life’s too short for us not to enjoy every moment of it.

16. And finally, if you were a fruit or vegetable, what would you be and why?

Fruit: Mango…I love mangoes, fresh ripe mangoes that are picked and eaten directly from the tree!

But if you want to draw an analogy from this inner desire to be a mango LOL, I guess you can say, “Tough external skin, but sweet on the inside”

Thank-you

Allen Benjamin

Responses

  1. Wow..just discovered your blog. Good work Steph. By the way it is ‘Gandhi’ and not ‘Ghandi’


Leave a Reply

Categories

