Posted by: Steph | March 8, 2007

Voting by Background

Last year there was a lot of voting by background. More than once I heard “He’s secured the Indian vote” or “I’m voting for him because the Chinese people got an email saying to vote for him”. This is ridiculous in a school that prides itself on diversity. Isn’t the MBA supposed to promote critical thinking?

I heard a lot of speeches today and something stood out – Parikshit Ralhan spoke of integrating within the school as opposed to celebrating diversity by dividing everyone (loosely paraphrased, tell me if I’m off). I think that was wise. I also feel that the voting by culture enables a double standard… imagine how offended people would be if someone was saying “go for the Canadian vote”?

Be smart.

One more thing… this goes out to some new commenters on the site – I’m thrilled that people are posting about the candidates but I think that those of you who are critiquing candidates should have the balls to sign your name. Chances are, if you are too chicken to sign your name, you aren’t they type of person who stands up for what they believe in. Intelligent critique and dialogue is one thing – but I think it reflects poorly on a candidate if their supporters feel the need to be insulting without revealing their identity.

I just watched “House”. Hugh Laurie is so on my laminated list.

Responses

  1. Steph:

    Suggestion: see if your Blog host enables signing-in before members are allowed to post. This way (most) people will sign-in with their emails (and thus IDs) before writing.

    Nothing like strong accountability, though it’s somewhat distressing how this needs to be “forced” at Schulich.

    Check out http://kobenhaven.blogspot.com/2007/03/kilen.html for an example of what I mean.

  2. On the other hand, if someone has something important to add that everyone else should know, maybe they should have an opportunity to get that message out without their identity being known?

  3. Colin has an excellent point. It seems to me that by supporting or trashing certain candidates, people lose sight of all the true qualities of people that are running for these positions.

  4. well, is it childish that people need to share their opinionated views on this blog?

    maybe it is a way to understand other people and is not childish after all?

    but i am skeptical about Shabab and Emily because out of so many candidates running for GBC, they needed your favor (Steph) to promote their platform

    what i would like to see is other blogs doing the same for other candidates. anyone heard of any? maybe the other candidates are strong and confident, maybe not?

    what kind of GBC would i like? one that required a mass amount of discussion and promotion on a blog or just simple action…hmmmmm

    i love gbc elections by the way and maybe i have clearly wasted my time on this blog, or maybe not

    food for thought?

  5. The only reason that Shabab and Emily got attention on this blog is that they made the effort to approach me. Any candidate had the same opportunity. I am not an advertising vehicle and take a look – I was prepared to be tough on them too. I did riff on Shabab for sounding too generic. I will my good and bad opinions about the candidates. I welcome debate and intelligent thought. I am thrilled to have people with different views commenting here.

    Again – the candidates have until the end of campaign period to contact me to chat. If they do – I will write as honestly as I can. It is not my responsibility to hunt people down – I am a full time student, not the official Schulich journalist.
    You want more blogs? Start one and I’ll link to you from this one.

  6. Yes, while more info on the candidates would be great, I’m sure that everyone has other more pressing things to do.
    I disagree with jt, I think that if you are running for a public position one should use every method to communicate their message. I find it odd that other candidates who are aware of this forum, have chosen to ignore its importance or have shyed away. This is the only place (that I know of at least) where there can be an exchange between a candidate and non-partisan person. No random student will challenge you on your posters, write-up or in-class speeches. I would be more skeptical of candidates who are unwilling or too shy to have their perspectives challenged.

  7. Steph, I am surprised that you haven’t commented on the T-shirt campaign going on at school. I am interested and curious to see the discussion it would trigger.

  8. I didn’t notice a t-shirt campaign… please share – who? what?

  9. Just as a non-election related side, Hugh Laurie has been on my list before I even knew what it was (or had hit puberty). You’ll have to fight me for him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

