Posted by: Steph | June 12, 2006

Krista Harris passes away

**Note: Over time I have noticed that this post gets consistent traffic and I would like to add some new words, because by no means has Krista left everyone’s thoughts.

A few years later Krista is not at all forgotten. I’ve moved on in my career (my last contact with Krista was an email while I was in school doing my MBA  ) and I value all that she taught me. I still consider Krista a big influence in how I want to be viewed as a manager and a person. I’ve had some interesting coincidences in my life that I really wish I could share with her, as I know she would have gotten a huge kick out of them. I would have liked to have known her a long time, as I know so many would have.  Truly a loss. My heart goes out to her family.

One more thing, at her memorial Judy (mind block… forgotten her last name) recited a poem about crows and the meanings of different numbers of crows. I have since forgotten the poem (when I have looked it up I have found different versions, I don’t know which one was read) but every time I see crows I think of Krista and wonder what that particular number of crows means. If anyone knows the poem, please share in the comments. Thanks.

– – – – – – – –

Where do you start with something like this? We got the news two weeks ago but I am still waiting for it to feel real.

I have many amazing memories of Krista. She was strong, driven, passionate, and compassionate. She went to bat for me on more than one occasion during my time at the CBC, and I learned a lot from her. Krista also knew how to laugh and I always looked forward to seeing her. She will be missed.

…I just read what I wrote and while I mean it deeply, it was so generic. Here are some more concrete memories and thoughts about Krista:

Krista was the first person to interview me for the CBC (a pre-interview before the board) and during that first interview I was a little bit terrified but she made me feel comfortable.

Krista and I bonded about dogs.

I knew how much Krista loved Nova Scotia and I thought of her often on my first trip out there because I could picture her there so perfectly. She was so happy when I told her how much I came to love Halifax immediately.

Leather jackets, boots…. she had a great collection of cool jackets and we had some excellent boot conversations.

Krista was very kind. When Web One was shut down and I was laid off she made the extra effort to tell me herself, even though she was no longer my boss. I appreciate that she made the effort, it really did make it better. I know how much easier it would have been for her to have someone else do it. Thank you.

Krista took the time to meet with me to help me strategize about what path I wanted to take at the CBC and/or my career. We sat in the sun and brainstormed and plotted.

I always took pride in the fact that she and I shared the same Myers Briggs personality type – a type not common for CBC management.

I was looking forward to telling Krista about some of the stuff I was learning and thinking about in the MBA program because it tied in so well to a lot of our conversations.

Krista knew I was in the MBA program and her last email to me ended with “good things happen to good people”.

The memorial is this Wednesday and I am dreading it and also craving it.

More about Krista click here… ***Note – link no longer active – which is a shame because it had hundreds of messages that should not have been lost.

Responses

  1. One Crow Sorrow
    Two Crow Joy
    Three Crow a letter
    Four Crow a Boy
    Five Crow silver
    six crow gold,
    seven crow a secret, never to be told


Leave a Reply

Categories

